How To Have A Non-vegan Wedding And Not Be A Couple Of Douchenozzles – by Isa Chandra Moskowitz.
I thought this was worth copying and pasting because it shows that some people do care. I’ve never been to a wedding in my adult life, and the one i’m going to next year is certainly not going to be held by douchenozzles – but still.
This is an email from my friends who are getting married in August. There are only 4 vegans in attendance, but they are being so thoughtful and cool about making sure we’re happy.
Hey guys –
Just wanted to say that we’re really excited that you all are going to be coming to our wedding, and to give you a little heads up about the food so you don’t have to worry about leaving hungry!
They are excited we are coming, not annoyed and asking us to “compromise.”
The food is all going to be kosher, and since we’re having meat in some of it, the good news is that you don’t have to worry about hidden dairy in any of the recipes. We’ve talked to the chef and found out what gets cooked with chicken stock or egg in it, but for the most part, what you see is what you get.
They talked to the chef! And asked the right questions!
Ok, so on to the food. After the reception there will be a cocktail hour with a bunch of pased hors d’oevres. The ones that are vegan are:
Grilled vegetable kebabs
vegetarian sushi roll
They gave us a list so that we don’t have to be annoying and we can just enjoy ourselves. Novel!
There will also be a tabble with raw veggies and dip, and another with hummus and other mediterannean salads.
Then, we go upstairs for dinner, which is going o be served buffet style. There will be a salad station, where you can make your own salad. And that’s it for you guys.
There’s a pasta station where you can get your choice of linguini and rigatoni, with three different sauces to choose from – filetto di pomodoro (kind of a chunky marinara), broccoli and olive oil, and dairy-free pesto.
They know their shiitake!
There’s also a crepe station – the chef is pretty sure that the crepes are not made wih egg, but he is checking on it for us. Assuming they aren’t made with egg, you can get a spinach filled crepe with mushroom sauce. If the crepes DO have egg, then I guess you can get some spinach with mushroom sauce on it…
They’re not sure about some stuff, but they will investigate further. They also are so naive that they don’t know that spinach with mushroom sauce is manna from heaven to us vegans.
There will also be grilled corn, vegetable rice, and polenta fries (again, 99% sure they will be vegan, but need to check on day of) at the various stations that will be around.
More checking. We’re used to that by now.
We’re still working dessert out, but we’ll probably have something brought in special for you guys.
Our dessert will probably be the most awesomest. They aren’t going to stick us with a slice of pineapple, even though that would have been fine.
Can’t wait to see you all there!
Rich -n- Erica
posted: 07 August 1